sunday morning coming down

5 11 2006

I walked to Rite Aid this morning. It’s a quiet, gray morning here and I have to admit it, I’m sick. I think this is the longest I have gone into the semester without getting sick before. I don’t know if I have less stress or am getting more sleep, but I was hoping to make it to Christmas without coming down with something. It’s miserable to be sick while living in a dorm. There’s no where to escape to, no kitchen to make tea in, and no porch to sit on to get some fresh air. Instead, I huddle by the window, sucking in clean air, hoping that the germs will be whisked away out of this third story opening.

While I walked this morning, I had some time to think and reflect. Part of the time I thought about Christianity and what it means to me and what affect Grove City College has had on my faith. Campus Crusade has been doing a survey on campus to find out whether the general opinion is that Grove City College has hurt or helped the faith of the students here. I think one of the questions on the survey hit it right on the head. The survey asked about local church involvement here. Personally, I think that’s the one thing that has affected me the most.

I was also thinking about my post on Uganda. One of my friends, David, who is still in Uganda sent me an email after reading the post and I was very happy to read what he wrote to me.  David and I have a relationship that is different than most other relationships that I have.  I have only spent about a week with him in person, yet there was some sort of deep connection that allows me to be open with him.  Here’s what he wrote:

We visited a Doctors without Borders picture exhibit last Saturday at the National Theater. The literature I picked up says:

“Fear of abduction and violence is the initial cause of night commuting, yet today it appears that other factors, directly or indirectly linked to war, lead children to seek refuge in these shelters every night.”

Incidentally, a sign at the exhibit said attendance has dropped from about 20,000 at the peak to about 4,800 this June. Something else that I saw mentioned that the cause of the night commuting now is that a generation of children have never known anything different. That’s why they go, they’ve always gone.

I’m very pleased to see a legitimate organization back up what I feel so strongly about. Unfortunately, university student bloggers don’t hold much clout in the world, but I’m encouraged that Doctors Without Borders is telling the truth: we have a problem, the original cause of that problem is over, we need to respond differently.

So much of me longs to go back to Uganda. I miss it in a way that is different than how I miss anything else in the world. I’d love to return to all sorts of places on earth and there’s a long list of other places that I would love to visit for the first time. Yet Uganda calls in a different way. I think my time in Uganda was a life changing experience that wasn’t done changing me when I left to come back home. I learned so much, but I feel left hanging, waiting for something. I have an idea of what that might be, but I’m not sure how to answer my own questions.

Actions

Information

One response

5 11 2006
Alanna

Apparently someone’s sickness messed with his head (or was his head already messed up???)… nice of you to drop by the chapel for a pre-vespers visit. ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

