The Birth of Autumn

28 09 2005

It came almost overnight this year. Suddenly it’s chilly now in the morning. 45° F this morning. I even brought out the sweatshirt. The first day of both a sweatshirt and jeans is always kind of sudden.

The signs of fall have arrived. The acorns litter the sidewalk. I have some sort of preoccupation with stepping on them. I like the way the crack when you walk on them. There are some brown leaves skipping around. And the grass is being cut for perhaps the last time.

Some are sad that summer is over. Some are worried about the winter. Maybe we should just enjoy the fall.

The sun is still shining with a nice fall breeze. The wind is coming from the east. It’s a perfect day for apple picking. I remember climbing to the top of the hill with the apple picker and picking several bushels of apples. It’s odd, because those trees never seem to have apples on them any more. What’s different? Nothing, I suppose. Perhaps it’s just another part of my youth that has changed. But there was something nice about picking the rosy fruit of the tree and sinking your teeth into the cool tartness of the naturally chilled fruit.

The jackets will start coming out soon. In the pockets will be memories of last year. Old ticket stubs and maybe the chapstick you lost. Perhaps even a few dollars that you left there when you hung the coat up in your closet. It’s always interesting what you find.

Do you like the arrival of autumn? Can you revel in the colors around you? Or does the fear of winter strike you as if you were a squirrel storing up for a long, cold spell?


Actions

Information

4 responses

29 09 2005
stephanie

It did come quickly… I do not feel sad at the passing of summer because the present has brought new joys and challenges. Perhaps I am learning not to live in the past, nor to be preoccupied with the future, as you wrote about in a previous post, but to relish the moment that I’m in. It’s difficult, but all you can do is try.

I am not looking forward to the impending winter – I seem to dislike winter more as I grow older, probably because the anticipation of “snow days” is now only a distant memory. But I like autumn…

“There is something in the autumn that is native to my blood
touch of manner, hint of mood
and my heart is like a rhyme
with the yellow and the purple and the crimson keeping time
The scarlet of the maples can shake me like a cry
of bugles going by
and my lonely spirit thrills
to see the frosty asters like a smoke upon the hills
There is something in October sets the gypsy blood astir
we must rise and follow her
when from every hill of flame
she calls and calls each vagabond by name”

Do you remember memorizing that poem? I can’t forget it because something in it identifies with my soul and how I feel at this time of year. I feel restless… that’s the best word I can think of to describe it. I felt it for the first time yesterday and realized that soon the leaves would be changing, and falling. I feel compelled to escape, to wander

This is perhaps the longest comment I have ever left. See what your writing evokes in me? I like stepping on the acorns, too.

4 10 2005
Lib Master G

Summer’s back! I guess we skipped winter and spring this year…that’s fine with me.

Sorry, fall lovers.

4 10 2005
Jacquelynn

I wish I had found some chapstick in my pockets…I could use some…

11 10 2005
Kristen

James … I think it is about time for an update🙂

Leave a Reply

