Rejuvenation

27 02 2006

This past weekend was the first one of relaxation this semester. I forgot the importance of time to recharge and relax. It was inspiring and it was preparatory for the coming week.It was the first time I had been to McConnell’s Mills. Saturday morning was cool, but it was sunny and the brisk air was invigorating. The walk to Hell’s Hollow was quiet, the creek in the background. There is great appreciation in being far away from everyone and everything, even if it’s only twenty minutes back to reality. It’s a gorgeous retreat and I had the chance to take some pictures, like the one at the top of this post.

The past few months have been void of a calm Saturday morning or a weekend that is free from the responsibility and obligation. The difference in the way you feel Sunday night and Monday morning is unbelievable. I sat down to the final exam I have to take before break and I felt relaxed and ready. Did I study this weekend? Yes, but it was not a consuming studying.

There are weekend full of work because of necessity, but it is unfortunate that those are the norm. We aren’t made for seven days of labor. I know that this comes as a major surprise to some of you, but we were made for a day of rest. We were made for a Sabbath.

The day of rest is a gift, given to us to recharge and rejuvenate. Not only that, it was given as a day of worship. I find that I often use Sunday as a day to catch up on things from the past week instead of using as a day of rest. I use the excuse that my ox is in a ditch and that it’s absolutely necessary. But is it really?

There are many arguments that the day of rest is an antiquated Old Testament doctrine that can be ignored. If you want to do that, I’m not going to stop you, but perhaps you should try honoring it for a few weeks. See what a difference it makes.

While at college, my time is not mine. I spend every waking minute being owned by someone, something, or some project. I look at my overwhelming calendar and feel like a slave. I have moved to two calendars: one for classes, lectures, and meetings and one for homework assignments, projects, and tests.

I want my weekends back. This weekend, it was my weekend. Sunday was a day of rest and worship. Saturday was a day of relaxation and fun.

Is it right to study on Sunday? Is it right to go to work on Sunday? Let me know what you think.


Actions

Information

4 responses

27 02 2006
monica

sophomore year, my roommate was pretty strict about keeping the sabbath (even if that meant she had to do it on saturday instead of sunday). she felt very convicted about it and i think God certainly blessed her efforts.

but really i wanted to just comment and say that i too, have never been to mcconnell’s mills. i’m sure i will later this semester. is it all that people say it is? is it fun to go when its chilly?

27 02 2006
Anonymous

I have wrestled with that dilemma since arriving to Grove City College. I think we all know the right answer. Martin Luther sure did.

R.B.

28 02 2006
Donkey Patrol

I think whether you study on Sunday or don’t study on Sunday isn’t what’s most important. I think the most important thing to do is commit the firstfruits of your week to the Lord. I knew plenty of people in college who, while they didn’t work or overextend themselves on Sunday, still found time to ruminate over the tasks ahead of them. Even though they didn’t technically do work, their day was still frought with stress and worry, and I don’t think it should be like that on Sunday.
My freshman roomate was the kind of this. He freaked out about work all afternoon, talked about how much stuff he had to do, didn’t really relax a whole lot, but in his eyes he was keeping the letter of the Old Testament declaration to ‘honor the sabbath and keep it holy’. But as soon as midnight rolled around, the desklamp flicked on, the backback flew open, and in a frenzy Matt Kennedy worked to accomplish all that he had ‘put off’ on Sunday afternoon. His observance of the letter of the law without the spirit not only made his day stressful, it MADE ME INCREDIBLY ANGRY WHEN I WAS TRYING TO GO TO SLEEP!!! When my mom was in college she was very adamant about not doing work on Sunday and she always talked about how great it was to have time to spend with the Lord sans the distraction of schoolwork. My mom also went to FSU and, God bless her, FSU (not equal sign) GCC.
I always managed to do a decent amount of work on Sunday only after I had committed the first half of my day to not committing myself to anything other than rest and worship. Simply waking up and knowing that the first half of my day was going to be spent in worship, in relationship building with friends, and in enjoying not flaccid pink bacon and pancakes at MAP brunch was a great way to start my week off. I think if you’re going to give your Sunday to the Lord, whether in whole or in part, you need to commit whatever amount of time strictly to the Lord. Boom.

28 02 2006
Anonymous

I usually do some work on Sunday afternoons. Mainly because I’m usually away or busy with swimming on Saturdays. Now that that’s over, we’ll see. Sunday afternoon has always been my time to call home, which is extremely refreshing.
I think the key is more than avoiding specific things on a specific day, but rather setting aside a day (or the majority of a day, or some weeks only a few hours) of concerted focus on the work of Christ – from creation when he gave us the example to his death and resurrection. Sometimes this feels more laborious than anything else…
I don’t think that taking a four-hour long nap every Sunday afternoon is really honoring the Lord’s day. Though sometimes it is. My sould finds rest in God alone…
cf Ps 62

Joel

Leave a Reply

