He’s Just Not That Into You by Greg Behrendt

17 08 2006

ISBN #:0-689-87474-X

I have read my fair share of relationship books. I loathe them. I especially despise relationship books that give what I consider to be horrendous advice. Books like I Kissed Dating Goodbye and When God Writes Your Love Story especially make me cring with their inapplicable drivel about one of the most important areas of your life.

I expected this to be a feminist rant about men and how awful they are. I expected a story of female empowerment and how men are dolts who are only needed as sperm donors. I was wrong. This book, written by two people involved with Sex and the City, is the best book on relationships that I have ever read. The basic summation of it is this: if a guy doesn’t seem that interested, he’s just not that into you.

Is that such a bad thing? Why do women feel that they must have any man that looks their way? Even if they are funny, intelligent, and gorgeous, every man is not going to be enthralled with them. There may not even be a specific reason for that lack of attraction, but who cares? It’s not that woman, it’s the man.

I wish I would have read this book awhile ago. I wish that I would have the courage to say to a girl, “Hey, you’re great, but I’m just not that into you”. I wish that women would hear that and be thankful for honesty instead of wondering what’s wrong with them or hating men.

Although this book is absolutely secular, it applies to everyone. Don’t write it off because you hate Sex and the City. This book really clears up the issue on why men don’t call and whether they’re complicated or not. (They’re really not, if you’re wondering.)

Some of my favorite quotes:

  • “Men don’t forget how much they like you. So put down the phone.”
  • “100% of men polled said they’ve never been too busy to call a woman they were really into.”
  • “He might be in the hospital with amnesia, but more than likely, he’s not that into you.

There you have it. Go read it. Find out that men are usually afraid to break a girl’s heart and would rather drag things out miserably instead of just breaking up with her. This books gives away all the secrets and excuses. It’s well worth the time.

I hope none of the girls I have ever gone out with read it. 😳


Actions

Information

One response

19 01 2007
He’s Just Not That Into You by Greg Behrendt, Part 2 « i’m a fan of postcards

[…] I was at work today, I reread this book. I liked it less this time. I read it for the first time back in August and now I’m slightly depressed about how much less I liked it this […]

Leave a Reply

