Needles, Waffles, & the BMV

18 08 2006

I think I prefer the bulleted approach to daily journaling:

  • First thing this morning, I went to the UPMC Womancare Center to get bloodwork done. I was hoping for lots of 20 year old girls, but there was just a bunch of menopausal old women. The nurse next to me was named Kenya. I was going to ask her if she was from Kenya, but she obviously wasn’t and I’m not sure that it would have gone over well if I would have made small talk about me going to Uganda and that being near her namesake country.
  • I made a waffle for breakfast to break the fast I was on for the blood test. I’ve switched to only using maple syrup.
  • I drove to the BMV, renewed my drivers license for $24, and drove home in 30 minutes. Not only was there not a line at the BMV, the ladies were friendly and there was no hassle, something usually associated with government offices.
  • In an attempt to find the best media player, I installed iTunes. I’ll put a review of what I find up soon, but I’m now offcially trying out an Apple product. The last time I used an Apple was 7th grade.
  • Better now than later, I went through the important mail that I got this summer.
  • I activated my new debit card which I will most likely never use. It does have PayPass which seems like a cool idea, but one that doesn’t really strike me as something I need.
  • I printed my annual credit report from http://www.annualcreditreport.com/. It’s kind of funny to see all the credit card companies that check my credit so they can send me lots of credit card offers.
  • I caught up with the summer’s issues of Smithsonian Magazine.
  • This afternoon, I revived another old pastime and did some brush clearing and burning. It was a pretty big fire.
  • For dinner there was manicotti and I made a nice salad.  I prefer salads that I make because I can choose the ingredients.  Tonight was green leaf lettuce, red leaf lettuce, tomatoes, and onions.  I like them simple and fresh.

Today’s weather was the kind of crappy weather that I hate about this region of the country.  It was humid, gray, and hot.  Miserable.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

