facebook behind 9/11

6 09 2006

I think utter disbelief is what I’m feeling right now. I think I would use the word “wow” but I feel that it doesn’t quite capture the astounding nature of the day’s top two events. In no particular order:

  1. Facebook has gone stalker, as previously mentioned. However, in an interesting move, the masses have responded, ironically enough, with Facebook. Close to 400,000 Facebook users have joined a group protesting the latest stalker trends that the website has introduced. Personally, I find this incredible. Yes, I’m against the newsfeeds and the mini-feeds, but I’m also shocked at how quickly 400,000 college students were mobilized. Apparently I’m not the only one surprised, because Time just picked it up in an article today. My generation won’t vote, won’t get involved in anything, but is willing to sit back and complain about it. However, maybe this proves that the methods used to reach the 8 million people on Facebook need to change. Perhaps the last generation’s way of doing things just won’t get this generation off the couch.
  2. Academics have claimed that 9/11 was an inside job. Yes, 75 of these super smart people are blaming the Project for the New American Century. You can think what you want about the PNAC (I don’t have an opinion). But come on, do you really think a large group of people could pull something off like say, flying planes into the tallest building in NYC, and have it be a secret for years to follow? And why would this group want a plane in the Pentagon? How would you wire these huge buildings with explosives without having any of the people who worked in those buildings notice?

Before we ignore some of the more tangible things of life, take a look at Fay Weldon’s excerpt here. I thought it was interesting.

I called my friend SH for her birthday this morning. She turned four years old today. She was going swimming. Reflecting on my fourth birthday, I realized I don’t remember my fourth birthday. I certainly don’t remember who called me or what birthday presents were given to me. That raises questions in my mind.

House had its third season premier last night. I watched it this evening after finishing my fluids homework. I think this season is going to have a slightly different slant than the previous two.

Here’s a good one to end on tonight. Ahmadinejad, the Iranian president, will be in NYC on September 19 to speak to the UN assembly. He stated that he’d like to debate the Americans there. I don’t know about you, but I think a Ahmadinejad/Bush debate in front of the UN would be the political highlight of the decade.

update, September 07, 2006 @ 16:16:

The Facebook group I mentioned is approaching 650,000 members and has been featured in the Wall Street Journal this morning. The group will also be mentioned on the CBS Evening News tonight with Katie Couric.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

