V for Vendetta

10 09 2006

Perhaps a coincidence, but after the week that I have spent pondering the impact people can make on society, it was only appropriate that I watch V for Vendetta.

Natalie Portman was great, but I think that Hugo Weaving was better.  I’ve never read the graphic novel, but my mind was immediately turning to 1984.  It also brought back memories of both reading and watching A Clockwork Orange.

I loved this quote by V:

Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished. However, this valorous visitation of a by-gone vexation, stands vivified and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin van-guarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition.  The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta, held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous.  Verily, this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose, so let me simply add that it’s my very good honor to meet you and you may call me V.

One of the things that I also pondered while watching this was how similar some of the comments made were to things that I could see GW saying.  Does that mean Bush is using things like the Patriot Act to keep Americans safe or to give himself power?

The movie was great but I think that the thoughts the film provokes are greater.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

