jolly old st. nikolaus bock

2 12 2006

Matt and I met up at Garfield’s tonight in Butler. As good fortune would have it, they have St. Nikolaus Bock Bier on tap right now. With this stroke up luck, we were both able to enjoy the deep taste of this holiday wonder. For me, it was my second glass of the Christmas goodness in as many days. I could get used to this beverage of the Christmas angels.

Anyhow, what is a bock? Besides for sounding like some sort of German novelty, I had no idea. Perusing Google and friends, I learned tonight that a bock is a type of lager beer that did originate in Germany. These beers are brewed with a lot of malt that gives it that full bodied taste that I enjoy. I didn’t know that it was the malt that I liked so much. When I toured the Coors Brewery in Golden, Colorado, I remember a little about hops, barley, and malt. Who knew that modifying these three things could vary the type of beer?

Since Penn Brewery brews the bock only in the winter, I just assumed that this rich beer was a holiday treat worldwide. However, in most countries the bock is usually a late spring and a summer beer.

In case you were wondering, Penn Brewery says that the St. Nikolaus is a Münchener Dunkel Bock Bier. I have no idea what that means.

David, if you’re reading this, please know that each time that glass is set in front of me, I think of you.  I don’t think of you in a cruel way or in a way where I gloat over the fact that I can enjoy and you can’t, but in a wistful way that I wish that you and I could share a stein of Germany.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

