Shake Hands With The Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda by Lt. General Romeo Dallaire

9 01 2007

My interest in Rwanda started when I was in Uganda.  I watched Hotel Rwanda for the first time.  I had bought a DVD collection from an Indian DVD and software stand that was a collection of Africa themed movies.  Oddly enough, City of God was on the disc.

After watching Sometimes in April and Hotel Rwanda, I wanted to know more about the genocide that had occurred so near to where I was living.  Google led me to Romeo Dallaire’s book which my brother gave me for my birthday back in September.  I started reading books again and this one was on the top of my list.  It’s a thick 550 pages and sometimes reads like a military diary, but the essence of this book is gut wrenching.

Dallaire was the commander of the UN mission to Rwanda when the genocide occurred.   He had a front row seat to everything that happened.  The Winnipeg Free Press said that this book will help you rediscover your capacity for moral outrage.  I think they are right.

What should our response be in times like this as Western nations?  I don’t know.  But this book will make you think about it.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

